After enforcement was suspended during the COVID-19 pandemic, on August 1 the Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will resume enforcing a state requirement that dealerships maintain specific minimum operating hours and keep updated contact information on file with the Board.
Under Virginia law, motor vehicle dealerships must “be open a minimum of 20 hours per week of which 10 hours shall be between the hours of 9:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.” Any changes to standard operating hours must be reported to the state in a timely fashion, as must the latest point of contact, and other “pertinent information.”
Auto dealers must also ensure that their public hours of operation are “posted and maintained conspicuously on or near the main entrance of each place of business.”
Dealers can contact their designated Virginia MVDB by visiting the state dealer board’s website. As of August 1, dealerships who fail to keep these records updated with the dealer board face increasing penalties, beginning with a warning and escalating to fines and potential required appearances before the state board in Richmond.Download Bulletin PDF